Anarchist and the Devil Do Cabaret, The

Author(s): NAWROCKI, Norman
ISBN13/Barcode: 9781551642048
PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

Chronicles an anarcho-rock'n'roll cabaret band touring the hard way--in a crowded van. When the internationally acclaimed rock'n'roll cabaret band Rhythm Activism toured Europe in order to promote their newest CD, it was through a Europe in transition that they traveled--a Europe marked by political and racial tension. Being equally at home in hard core clubs, poetry festivals, soup kitchens, the netherworld of squats, or urine drenched dives and youthfully, defiant haunts where cultural resistance rules, they drew immediate followers.


The Anarchist and The Devil Do Cabaret is an amazing portrayal of that tour, told with a sense of humor, a down-to-earth perception, and in the tradition of Jack Kerouac's On the Road or Henry Rollins' Get In the Van. Inspired by encounters with Europe's new multi-racial underclass-- the working poor, street people, immigrants, refugees, marginalized youth, the aged--this book is not merely an insider's look into the state of rock'n'roll, it is, as well, a commentary on the state of Europe in the late 20th century. In a wonderful reversal of tradition, every so often Nawrocki slips from his chronicles of life on the road into short fiction pieces.


These stories, real and exaggerated, are filled with a cast of friends, lovers, and fellow travelers--panhandlers and anarchists, the unemployed and underemployed dreaming of better times, neo-Nazis and skinheads trapped in hateful lives, prostitutes risking everything, gypsy ghetto boys fighting racism, and even the sometimes riotous band members themselves.

£14.99

Availability: More than 50 In stock

  • Full Description
  • Bibliographic Information
  • Reviews
  • Add Review
  • Tags

Details

Chronicles an anarcho-rock'n'roll cabaret band touring the hard way--in a crowded van. When the internationally acclaimed rock'n'roll cabaret band Rhythm Activism toured Europe in order to promote their newest CD, it was through a Europe in transition that they traveled--a Europe marked by political and racial tension. Being equally at home in hard core clubs, poetry festivals, soup kitchens, the netherworld of squats, or urine drenched dives and youthfully, defiant haunts where cultural resistance rules, they drew immediate followers.

The Anarchist and The Devil Do Cabaret is an amazing portrayal of that tour, told with a sense of humor, a down-to-earth perception, and in the tradition of Jack Kerouac's On the Road or Henry Rollins' Get In the Van. Inspired by encounters with Europe's new multi-racial underclass-- the working poor, street people, immigrants, refugees, marginalized youth, the aged--this book is not merely an insider's look into the state of rock'n'roll, it is, as well, a commentary on the state of Europe in the late 20th century. In a wonderful reversal of tradition, every so often Nawrocki slips from his chronicles of life on the road into short fiction pieces.

These stories, real and exaggerated, are filled with a cast of friends, lovers, and fellow travelers--panhandlers and anarchists, the unemployed and underemployed dreaming of better times, neo-Nazis and skinheads trapped in hateful lives, prostitutes risking everything, gypsy ghetto boys fighting racism, and even the sometimes riotous band members themselves.

Additional Information

ISBN13/Barcode 9781551642048
ISBN10 1551642042
Author NAWROCKI, Norman
Binding Paperback
Date Published 7 Jan 2003
Frequency No
Report Date N/A
Pages 196
Publisher Black Rose Books

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Anarchist and the Devil Do Cabaret, The

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Value
Quality
Price

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.